Going to Ground

Today is one of those days that I’d just skip check-in. If I hadn’t set a goal prohibiting such behavior, I’d do just that. This post would be lost to the overwhelming urge I have to do nothing at this moment. This week has been crazy busy with many emotional ups and downs. Lots of changes are on the horizon and I need to take some time to ground myself. It’s that or risk losing my shit in the midst of it all. I’d much rather be prepared than not. So, this post will be a quick one.

I have finished reading the novel Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire. In fact, that’s what I’ve spent most of this afternoon doing. It’s a really good read. I definitely plan to move deeper into the series. And now, I’ll get back to my craft book. I’ve written every day except Thursday. No progress on novel analyzing or writing a story. We’ll see how all of that goes.

My focus is shifting. I know I’ll finish out this round, but I may need to sit out next round which is not what I’d planned. I guess I will have to give it some serious thought. I hope all is well with you all.

Until Wednesday.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hi Yolanda.

    Oddly, crazy busy is my thing – between day job, writing and family about 19 to 20 hours a day, 7 days a week crazy. So, let me share a piece of experience, given from the heart of one writer to another: “Only the moment seems eternal and in a moment everything will change.” No matter how grim things may seem at this moment, how you choose to handle the situations you are facing will determine how things progress and change.

    You are still writing. Still reading. Still sticking to your personal goals. Still lively and strong (it shows in your post). Take heart and trust in that strength you so deeply possess. We all require moments to reset and having that trust in our ability to make it through is the key to success and arriving at a new and better moment.

    I truly hope that things improve in your world and find you in a better place soon. Best wishes for the road ahead 🙂

    Gene Lempp, ROW80 Sponsor.

  2. We’ll miss you next round Yolanda!

  3. Congratulations on your new job. It’s always difficult when starting something new to figure out where everything fits. Once you get back in the groove of things, you’ll probably figure out what works best for you. Have a great week!

  4. It is so nice to be able to sit down and finish a book. hmm? 🙂 Glad I was able to interact with you this round… if you sit out next, it’s cool.. we will miss you! But we’ll be there for next time.

  5. I sososo understand. But look at you, writing every day! I feel as if I should have sat out this round, what with all my absenteeism… And I may sit out next round too, except Gene does offer a good argument.

    Just be happy in whatever you choose.

    And, no matter what, I’ll still check in with you — even if it is sporadic.

    • Gene does make an excellent point. I love the consistency and accountability I get from this challenge. I am seriously hoping that the time between rounds is enough. I really don’t want to sit out. And thanks for always checking up on me.

Leave a Reply

