Rock Star Moves

My focus has not been on my writing goals at all since Sunday. On Monday afternoon, I got a call from the company for which I’ve been interviewing. The representative set me up for an in-person interview on Tuesday morning. I’d already had two phone interviews and an assessment. Tuesday morning, I showed up feeling a little nervous, but mostly just excited. The interview went very well. So well in fact, that I felt like quite the rock star. Theme song for the day…

By four o’clock Tuesday afternoon, I had the job. Yay! I cannot tell you how happy, excited, and relieved I am. If you’ve ever been involuntarily unemployed for a long stint of time, then you know the havoc such a circumstance can wreak on your life. Chances are that you get it even if you haven’t had the experience personally.

Today, I’m running around getting paperwork together and completing my drug test. My start date will mostly likely be the 26th of this month. Once I get all my information turned in, I hope to end this round with a bang. Now that I don’t have to worry about job hunting, I can focus on enjoying my last few weeks of complete freedom minus the underlying tension that’s been there.

With all that said, I didn’t write yesterday. I was too busy smiling hard and dancing a jig or twenty. (No video evidence is available for your perusal. :P) I got some reading in over the last few days, mostly fiction. Seanan McGuire‘s Rosemary and RueΒ is the type of story that usually keeps me riveted, but I’ve just been too excited to focus on much of anything.

Thanks to you guys for all of the awesome support and encouragement. Catch you Sunday!

P.S. Everybody dance NOW!

Posted on March 7, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. What awesome news! Congrats.

  2. Yep, I’ve had those long dry spells and they truly suck. Congrats. I truly am happy for you. Everyone should have the opportunity to be productive. You go girl!

  3. Well done Yolanda! Happy dance!

  4. Excellent! Excellent!

    Doing the happy dance for you! (Though my dancing comes off less like a rock star and more like Steve Martin….)

  5. This is tremendous! Congrats on the new job and the freedom to write, write, write to the end of this Round! Brava!

  6. Heather_Ponzer

    Yay! Congrats, girl! That’s great news.

  7. Congrats on the job That is great news!

  8. Absolutely, dancing! Hooray for you. I’ve been there and beyond so have a pretty good idea of what you’re feeling. Truly, this has made my day!
    Karen

  9. Congratulations on the job front! Don’t worry about the goals, they’ll still be here when you have time for them πŸ™‚ Love the song by the way, we play this one every time on the jukebox at the pub πŸ˜€

  10. Such great news! I don’t blame you for taking a chance to celebrate instead of writing. Good luck with the writing productivity these next couple of weeks!

  11. Yolanda, I am so happy for you. What a relief. And I know you will shine in this position (whatever it is!).

    Sorry I haven’t checked in with you (or anyone) for…ever, it’s been different. Hope to be back in the saddle with a Sunday check-in.

  12. Doing a little cha-cha for you! No, a jig because it’s almost St. Patrick’s day! Whatever kind of dance we do–congrats!

Leave a Reply

