Counting Down the Round

Operation de-hibernate has hit a bit of a snag as the temperatures have fallen again. On Friday, it was so warm that I wore flip-flops and short sleeves. I was oh so excited to break out my warm weather attire. By Saturday, I was back to jacket and sneakers. Sigh. Right now, I’m in bed covered from neck to foot by a heavy crocheted blanket. Only my hands are exposed so i can still type. I did get my walk in this morning; I was all bundled up.

This check-in rolled around pretty quickly. The end of the round is also just around the bend. And so, I am in evaluation mode again. One of my goals for round one is to write a short story. While I’ve been writing a lot, even working on a story or two, nothing has come of it yet. The stories that I’ve been reading are in an anthology called Home Improvement: Undead edition. I’ve read most of the stories included. Some, I loved. A few, I hated. Most of them fell somewhere in between. My best friend and I have both been struggling to write a finished piece. We decided to challenge ourselves to come up with stories that could have been included in the anthology. That triggered some ideas. So, that’s what I’m working on now.

As for the reading, one of the stories that I loved introduced me to another author. Seanan McGuire writes about the fae in her October Daye series. I started book one in the wee hours of the morning. So far so good.  I’ve got four more stories to get to in the anthology, but I turned the book over to my roommate for the time being. The other two things I’m working to finish by the end of the round are reading the current craft book and analyzing the novel that I started. All is well and moving forward.

Happy ROWing everyone!

Posted on March 4, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’m in a similar situation. I’ve written many words and made progress but I hoped to have the story moving along by the end of first quarter. Not happening but I press on.

  2. Good job! It got cold here too, but I’m trying not to complain it’ll be horribly hot soon enough.

  3. Great work on the goals! All the best for the upcoming week.

  4. Best wishes with the short story. That’s a great goal! I wonder what craft book you’re reading. I try to read 1-2 craft books each ROW80 quarter. Have a terrific week!

  5. I like that goal Julie. Right now, I’m reading John Truby’s The Anatomy of Story.

Leave a Reply

