A Case of the Shoulds

I am just bubbling over with excitement. I have a job interview tomorrow with a company that I’ve applied to a number of times. So, I’ve been in prep mode for a few days now. There is more company research to be done. And then there’s practicing the answers to likely questions . Busy, busy, busy in a good way. I’ve thrown a roast in the slow cooker so that I can just put my head down and work.

As for my goals, I am consistently moving forward. I’ve finished another Faith Hunter novel and started the last one available in the series. I came down with a case of the shoulds yesterday. I haven’t read any of the current craft book of choice for probably a week. I’ve been so caught up in good fiction, the kind that’s like candy. I started to feel guilty for enjoying myself too much. I decided that I should read something more substantial and get back to the craft book and blah blah blah.

Truth is, I don’t care about any of that. I put the heavier stuff to side. I went back to what I WANT to read right now. I’m calling this episode a momentary relapse. I suspect there will be more. But every time I manage to refocus on my priorities instead of the shoulds floating around in my head, I breathe a bit easier. I feel a bit stronger. I feel more myself.

I’m finding that the more I write. The quicker it gets. I’m able to hit my mark in shorter and shorter stints of time. I exceed my goal more often than not. That’s a good place to be for now. This is where I’d normally insert some new goal, but I’m not going to do that. I like the feeling of consistency. Gonna ride it out.

I hope that all is well with you guys. Have a great week ROW buddies.

 

Posted on February 19, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Good luck with the job interview!

  2. Good luck with your interview! And reading fiction is still learning 🙂 Best of luck for the upcoming week.

  3. Good luck on the interview! I’m sure you’ll do great. And as for reading what you want at the moment, discipline is necessary sometimes, but not all the time for everything. Enjoy the journey. 😀

  4. Hi Jayrod! You’re so right about discipline. I am learning to apply it where it’s needed and to cut myself some slack where it’s not. A work in progress. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

