And a Cup of Honeyed Tea–ROW 80 Check-in

I woke up too  early this morning unable to get back to sleep. My throat felt scratchy and my body achy. With all the time I’ve spent sitting in the waiting room at the doctor’s office in the last month, I wouldn’t be shocked if I’ve picked up something. (One of the nurses suggested that I should be on the payroll. :P) I am just not ready to accept such a fate. So, I’m going to drink some tea with honey and find my happy place.

In the meantime, I’ve finished reading Story Engineering this morning. It was well worth the effort. I found the sections on structure and character to be the most useful to me. I’m sure I’ll reread them both a few times. Brooks comes at the subject of writing with specifics that I’ve been hard-pressed to find in other craft books. This one came highly recommended by Kristen Lamb and so many other folks that I had to pick it up. Glad I did.

Now that I’m done with that, I’m on to the next book. I started June Casagrande’s It was the best of sentences, it was the worst of sentences. I think a little change of pace on the craft front will do me good.

I haven’t chosen my next book to analyze yet. Now that I’m a few books into the plot drill, my initial list looks less appealing. I am deviating from it for sure. I just have to figure out what’s next. I have some free time this afternoon. I’ll likely make my pick and get started then.

The daily writing continues. Onward ho!

Until Sunday my friends!

Posted on February 1, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well; hope you feel better soon! Congrats on the progress too!

  2. Drink the tea and if you do get sick, it’s a good excuse to lay on the couch and do movie “research.”

    I need to start in on one of my craft books. It doesn’t help that a ebook I had on hold from the library came in and it started out AMAZING.

    Have a good rest of the week! I’ll send healthy-immune-system vibes your way.

  3. I hope this is just a blip on the radar and your not sick! I need to read some books on writing…

  4. Feel better! I just got over a nasty cold myself, and it caused me to do some lousy writing.

    BTW, who wrote Story Engineering?

  5. Love Brooks’ book. I’m so glad I bought the book, not the ebook, because I have sticky notes throughout. Feel better soon 🙂

  6. I hope you feel better!

  7. Oh, no, not sick! It’s been around a lot. I know of at least four ROWers who have been on and off with the ickies. Hope you aren’t joining them.

    I’m going to echo Heather’s advice. Lay low for a while, do some non-stressful “research”. And for a sore throat… Lemon Ginger tea with honey or Yogi tea brand Licorice Spice (sounds strange but it’s divine) are both really soothing.

  8. Thanks Eden. I am feeling quite icky at this point. I hope it doesn’t last long.

  9. I hope you showed that threatening cold who was boss! If not, I hope you show it soon.

    I’m definitely picking up Story Engineering. You have piqued my interest. I’d love to see a post with more of your thoughts on it. I know I need to read more craft books. If only there were more hours in the day…

    Sending healthy wishes. Hope you have a great ending to the week!

Leave a Reply

