Success and Surrender–ROW 80 Check-in

By next check-in, it will be February. This first month of 2012 has blown by so quickly. I feel like round one just got started a few days ago, but that is not the case. Instead we’re twenty-eight days into this eighty day journey. I’m totally excited about the progress in some areas and less than impressed with others.  A mixed bag.

Reading– I finished Patrick Rothfuss’ The Name of the Wind. In the end, I’d say I’m more than luke warm about it, but I won’t be having any fangirl meltdowns about it either.  This book was extremely slow moving in too many places for me. I’m invested enough in the main character, Kvothe, to read the next installment. I hope it picks up.

I went back to Story Engineering as well. Knocked out  a few more chapters of that this last week. Got some pages in today.

Novel Analyzing– Haven’t worked on that at all in the last few days. And when I’m truly honest with myself, I realize that I’m just  being stubborn. I asked myself a question: Would I rather sacrifice the drill for the sake of finishing the book or sacrifice the book for the sake of finishing the drill?  When I look at it that way, the answer is clear. 

I’ve been trying to prove to myself that I can finish this book and slowing my overall progress in this area down to a snail’s pace. I hate quitting things, but sometimes that is the best option. Forcing myself to stick with it is not an efficient use of time in this situation. There is a big difference between activity and productivity, and I’d much rather be productive than merely active. I’m starting a new book this week with the option never to return to the book that shall not named. Waving the white flag and moving on.

Writing- I am most pleased with the happenings on this front. My 250 word test mile has been the most successful thing I’ve implemented so far this year. I have written every day this month. I haven’t written this consistently in  a while. I’m going to start participating in some sprints again. Those are always fun and productive for me.

How are you feeling after your first month of the new year?

Hope you guys are having fun and hitting your marks. Catch ya Wednesday!

Posted on January 29, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Congratualations on your writng progress! Writing every day this month is more than I’ve achieved.

  2. Good job, Yolanda.. 🙂 Very brave of you to break it all down and address what is working and what is not.
    “The Book That Shall Not Be Named” – actually a great title!

    😀

  3. I’m with Darlene. That is an awesome title for a book.

    Wow! It really is that far into the challenge. Where has all the time gone? Mixed bags and all, I’m glad I got to “meet you” via this challenge. It’s been one of the highlights, dealing with other wonderfully creative people out in the ether, and your posts often make me smile. See you at the next check-in, Yolanda.

  4. @Janet Thanks dear!

    @Darlene Brave? I never feel that way, but it is so cool when people see things in you that you don’t necessarily see in yourself. Thanks.

    @Eden Aww, that is the sweetest thing. I’m glad to have met you too. It’s nice to find people that get me. Thanks for always being so encouraging.

  5. Oh, I love the white flag… am feeling you!! I am also of the ‘how did January end so soon?’ club, especially since it was my birthday on this check in day… which I skipped, by the way!

    Good work, dear one, and keep that ROW80 fire burning. Love your positive spin even on those areas that may not be what you had thought or hoped they would be at this point.

    Time to keep on keeping on, eh?

  6. Congratulations on pushing on those ROW80 goals! I’m with you about waving the white flag. Last Row80 I raised the white flag on a long-term project and immediately jumped into writing two short stories. Got those short stories out the door by the first of the year and am now working on a new manuscript.

    It feels GOOD! Hope you have the same good feeling.

  7. @Julie Thanks and a belated Happy Birthday to you!

    @Bridgette That’s awesome. I hope I get those kind of results too. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

