Flogging Optional–ROW 80 Check-in

I’ve gotten all my words in over the last few days. Aiming for 250 words a day didn’t seem like much to me when I chose this goal, but I’m finding that it makes me more productive. It’s a number I can hit without feeling stressed. It’s a number I can hit even when my day has been crazy.

Story EngineeringΒ is taking over my mind. In fact, I’ve been having a hard time putting it down. I don’t mind that in general, but it’s taking away from other things at the moment (namely novel analyzing). It’s kind of funny how that works. This thing is going too fast and the other isn’t going fast enough. Even as I write this, I am laughing. Who cares?

There are no deadlines. This is not for a class or a job. I mean, does it even count as an Ooh Shiny! moment when I’m doing something that is productive and that’s on my list? My inner control freak is showing. Excuse me while I put her to bed.

Okay, now that some semblance of sanity has been restored, let’s talk novel analyzing. It’s going, just not at the pace I’d prefer. I think I’m just too overly attached to how quickly I get this exercise done. I do recall Amy Kennedy mentioning something about the plot drill making me crazy. It just feels like it has been forever and that it’ll take until next Christmas if I’m not flogging myself about it constantly. Yet, the flogging doesn’t make the work go any faster. It is time to relax, relate, and release. Whooosaaaa.

I haven’t written an extra blog post yet either. I’m starting to feel like the timing isn’t quite right for me to do that yet. So, I’m taking it off the table. Just the other day, I told Β a fellow ROWer to focus on fewer things in order to get more done. Methinks said advice applies here as well.

 

Posted on January 11, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Funny, isn’t it, how sometimes the greatest advice we give is exactly the advice we need.

    Kudos to you for moving forward, building momentum while at the same time realizing… “I won’t get in trouble if I don’t.”

    Brava to you… and as always, looking forward to future ROW80 updates!

  2. Really glad you’re making such good progress! All the best for 2012!

  3. Love this! Ooh Shiny!! You seem to be rolling through it with forward momentum – any steps forward are good, it will balance out eventually.. Have fun with Story Engineering and don’t let the novel analysis slide get to you, it will come back around.

  4. Oh, I am so happy you took something off the table. And I love, love, LOVE your “This is not for a class or a job.” Right!

    I have one of those inner control freaks too, she’s good for some things and other times I have to wrestle her to the ground.

    I also love that your hitting your 250 mark — a great big YAY! on that, have a great rest of the week.

  5. heatherishither

    It’s a good feeling when you find what works for you, isn’t it? I’m so bad about thinking that I have to make somebody else’s definition of what’s productive work for me.

    I also feel like the holiday turmoil is finally settling and I’m back in a routine. The holidays make me crazy.

    Have a great rest of the week! I think I’ll put Story Engineering on my TBR list.

    • Hi Heather! Yes, it’s a great feeling to figure out what works. I don’t know what authority I think is going to smite me if I don’t get things done. I have to remind myself that I’m in control and whatever I decide for me is okay.

  6. I love the idea of a goal that isn’t too untouchable. Something that is doable makes it that much more doable and encouraging. Keep it up!

  7. Yolanda, me thinks I can learn from you! I stress myself out, and I need to learn to lower my expectations so I know I can meet them. I’m so glad I stopped by here to read the sense you are talking. I needed to hear it.

    You are always so lovely to come by my blog. When you do, will you help me remember to slow down and be happy. πŸ˜‰

    Hugs!

  8. Awesome albino monk impression, Yolanda. Seriously. Awesome! =)

  9. 250 a day seems to be the magic number. Glad it’s working for you. Just keep going with the flow and you’ll get there. No pressure πŸ™‚ Have a great week!

  10. An old friend of mine and I like to say that we usually see the biggest flaws in each other’s work that we need to fix in our own. Looks like you’ve discovered that on your own, and that it doesn’t just work for critiques.

    Don’t you love how the whole ROW process allows us to be so much more honest with ourselves?

  11. you are doing such a wonderful job! πŸ™‚ I am so happy that 250 words a day is working for you. And I am going to check out that book. πŸ˜€

  12. Yolanda, you had me smiling throughout -a very engaging post; makes me wonder what your novel is really like! πŸ˜‰ We always give advice and forget to take it ourself; kudos to you to remembering that and taking it on board. Fewer goals is certainly the way to go or else the unwanted-stress will just build and build. Keep up the good work and I look forward to catching up with you as we continue through the round. πŸ˜€

  13. you have embodied the spirit of ROW80; I can see you sailing through your goals! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

