Plus One More–ROW 80 Check-in

Ahhhh…check-in. Yay! I have totally missed the accountability that comes with this challenge.  Okay, now that that is out of the way, let’s get to it.

Things are starting to pick back up from the holiday slow down. My move has been pushed back until this summer. So, that is one less thing to distract me right now. I’m still job hunting, but there is considerably less stress to speak of. I’ve been putting the extra time and mind space to good use.

Writing- I’ve been hitting the 250 a day word goal pretty easily so far. I’m not shocked, that number isn’t much of a challenge for me in terms of output. The challenge is the every day part. I went to  the doctor’s office with my roomie yesterday, but that wasn’t enough to make me miss my session. Hopefully, that will continue.

Novel analyzing- I’ve been getting that done as well. I am still working on the novel that shall not be named (again). I’m sucking it up. I know once I’m done with this one, I’ll be happier about the work. Until then, I’ve vowed not to whine about it anymore. On the bright side, I’ll probably be done with it by Wednesday check-in next week.

Short story-I am working with something. I don’t know what it will turn into yet, but I’ve got a character that has been sticking with me for the last few days. We’ll see.

Reading- I am a few chapters into Story Engineering. They are chapters that I’ve already read a few times before. I’ve attempted reading this book at least twice. My inability to get through it has nothing to do with the book and everything to do with how hectic life has been lately. I’m excited to actually get to the meat of the book. That’s why I made reading it a goal in itself.

While I am happy with the progress made over the last few days, I’m adding another goal to the list. That goal is not to skip any check-ins this round. I think I only missed two last round, but I don’t want a repeat. Reporting in twice a week keeps me on my toes. It encourages me to get myself together quickly when I fall of track.

That’s it for now. Hope you guys are doing well. Catch ya Sunday!

Posted on January 4, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Hi Yolanda!
    Love all these goals! Did I read that right? You will be finished with a book by next week? Yaaahooo! Awesome!

    Great start and one check in complete! Good for you!

    Happy New Year and Happy Writing!

  2. Oh Veronica, I wish! I’ll be finished analyzing said novel, not writing it. It is a nice thought though. 😉

  3. I’m totally with you. Somehow these check ins are a driving force for me, too. Glad to see you back!

  4. Even finishing analyzing a novel counts as something finished… So cool! And 250 words a day is a lot if it’s done every day especially when that isn’t a habit.

    Sounds good! =)

  5. I’m new to ROW 80, but I am feeling very motivated from the check-ins and the encouragement. Great job on getting so much accomplished!

  6. Thanks Rant. And yes, Eden, all of it counts. Progress is progress. 🙂

  7. Checking in every time is very important. I know a lot of people only do it once a week but I think that’s causing them to miss out on some of the “pressure” to make their goals. Good job for making the check-ins a priority. Keep up the great work!

  8. Great work Yolanda and happy ROWing!

  9. Great job! I have Story Engineering on the shelf waiting to be read. I’m thinking of attempting some short stories. I finished the first draft and analyzing it now, but I miss that push to just write free flow without censoring. Have a great rest of the week!

  10. Thanks for all the encouragement guys!

  11. Good luck reaching the end of analysing the novel that shall not be named, lol Great Goals! I’m right there with you in feeling the check-ins are great for accountability 🙂

  12. Fantastic… I hope I don’t miss any check ins this round either. Stuff like the holidays tend to get me tangled up in a keyboard vs. the “rest of my life” battle. Crazyness.

    So glad to hear what you are up to with ROW80. I look forward to reading your next and next and next and next, etc. Updates!

Leave a Reply

