Final Check-In 2011

Wow, this feels really bittersweet. I’m excited and sad that this is the final check-in for round four and for the year. A  lot of things are up in the air for me at this point. I have no clue what 2012 will bring, but I do know that I’ll be rocking the row again.

Since last check-in, I’ve written every day. I haven’t touched the novel analyzing. But as I’ve said in my last two check-ins, I’m not really that surprised or disappointed by that. I’m going to enjoy my holidays, and figure out what my goals will be for next round. If it’s one thing I’ve learned from this challenge, it’s that all progress counts.

Round four has been a fabulous experience for me. Watching other writers set and pursue goals has given me confidence in my own process. Some weeks are great. I get tons of  work done. Others, I barely pick up a pen  or crack open a book. But it is all to the good as long as I keep at it. And this challenge is a great support for the long haul. It puts the focus on the day to day effort that’s required to make this dream of mine come true. I am truly grateful to have found it.

I hope that you all have brilliant holidays, whatever you may celebrate. I am looking forward to continuing this journey with you in 2012. Until then.

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hope you enjoy the holiday break! Look forward to catching up with you again in the next round 🙂

  2. Ah…you’ve hit it on the head — …”for the long haul.” That’s what I always need to remember, just because we didn’t get done what we wanted to from Sunday to Wednesday (always too quick for me!) doesn’t mean we give up. We get to start over every damn check-in. It’s like confession, and we always get absolved from our “sins” — thanks for the reminder!

    Have a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

