I’m grateful–Row 80 check-in

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving, and while I make it a habit to be grateful, this holiday makes it especially poignant. When things aren’t going quite as you hoped, it is easy to lose sight of what’s going well. Here’s a list of things I’m grateful for today and every day.

The Encouragers- These are the people who support you when things look good and when they don’t. They are the people who help you clean your wounds when you fall on your face. Then they tell you to get your ass back out there. These people focus on your strengths, and handle your weaknesses with firm, but gentle care. They tell you the truth even when it hurts.

The Inspirations- The inspirations are all geniuses in some form or another. They have things that they do so well that you can’t help but take notice. They make you want to do something. They make you want to be better. They make you challenge yourself. I’ve lost a few of my inspirations this year, but I am glad they were here. A moment of silence for my grandfather, David Early,Sr., Steve Jobs, Anne McCaffrey, and Heavy D.

The Laughter- No matter what’s happening, I’ve never gone a day without laughing. It keeps me sane.

The Do-overs, Fresh Starts, and Continuations- Sunday, I forgot to write. I was preoccupied with all the upheaval happening in my life right now and I just forgot. Then, I got mad because my streak was over. There was no check-in either. I was back to writing on Monday, and as you can see, back to checking in today.

My gusto for NaNo has completely died. Not the project itself, just the urge do a writing blitz. I am actually very surprised at how well the actual novel seems to be coming along. It’s just not happening at the pace set by the NaNo gods or the one I set for myself. That’s okay too. Slow pace is better than no pace.

I wonder what’s going to happen next year this time. Right now, I can honestly say I hope to ignore the NaNo glitz and keep to whatever I’m doing. But then, I tend to aim big and fail big. LOL…I’ll probably be set on diving, head first, into the madness again.

The Stretch- There is no real downside to taking risks. Yeah, I know–pain, failure, embarrassment, blah blah blah. All real, but fleeting. Whenever you do something that is beyond your comfort zone, you win regardless of the actual outcome. Even if you fail miserably, you end up in a better position than you were when you started. Yes, it sucks. It may be painful, but you learn. You move forward. You do better next time.

Happy Thanksgiving every one. Until Sunday.

Posted on November 23, 2011, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love, love LOVE this post. I’m sorry about your grandfather (as well as the other inspirations).

    “Whenever you do something outside your comfort zone, you win regardless of the actual outcome.” I want to post this on my wall — what great inspiration YOU are!

    P.S. I didn’t check-in on Wednesday — been feeling guilty about it, but this post made me feel better. Thanks. And hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. Wow, thanks Amy! I’m really glad that you found this helpful. That makes me really happy.:)

  3. My father was an inspiration to me all his life and although he is not here anymore I still have his inspiration within me

    good blog

  4. Thanks Alberta! And yes, the most potent inspirations really stick with you.

Leave a Reply

