NaNo the Hussy –Row 80 check-in

In Sunday’s check-in, our Row sister, Amy Kennedy, had the brilliant insight to call NaNoWriMo a hussy. I don’t think I’ve ever heard a more apt description. Here’s why:

1. NaNo is good-looking. It is such a simple concept, 50,000 words in 30 days. Simple has a way of disguising itself as easy. When the end of October hits, it’s like NaNo just walked into a crowded room wearing red booty shorts and a tramp stamp baring top.

2. NaNo is flaky. It only comes around once a year, flirtatious and smelling of eau de novel.

3. NaNo is needy. It demands all of your attention for a while, and then leaves you high and dry.

4. NaNo is  charming. It whispers the same sweet nothings to you and all the other writers and wannabes. “You’re brilliant. You can write 50,000 words in month easily.”Show me how dedicated you are.” “You can do anything for a little while.”

As the days go on, I’m finding myself less and less enchanted with NaNo. I’m enjoying the writing, but not the end goal. Every time I think about the 50,ooo words, I get frantic. Playing catch up is not my idea of fun. When I just focus on the writing, everything is great.  Part of me wants to get my ass in gear. Part of me wants to bow out gracefully.

At the end of the day, I have enough pressure right now. I need to find a job. My lease is ending soon, and I have to find a new place to live. I have personal statements to write and letters of recommendation to solicit. Ha! Looks like I just used this post to work through my decision making process.

I’m writing every day. That’s enough for me. So, to hell with aiming for a NaNo win. I think I’ll still aim for 30,000 words this month. That’s still a big stretch for me.

Hope all is well with you guys.

Posted on November 17, 2011, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Good for you. Writing should be fun. If it isn’t, we make adjustments. When you’re writing every day, and you’re happy, you’re meeting the most important goal. 30,000 words sounds like a win to me.

  2. Hurray! NaNo can make us forget that the story and the writing are the important things. Good for you for coming back to that. And good luck with the job and the moving.

  3. What a great post. I love your brutal honesty, Yolanda. Tramp Stamp!! hahaha!! Loved that part of your post the most.

    Good luck with your job hunting and place to live finding… 😀

    Darlene

  4. Hahahahaha! I love it and, Amen on the “to hell with aiming for a nano win…” Great attitude. You know what your priorities are, isn’t it wonderful to sort of stumble on them as we go through this? And thanks for the shout out!

  5. You go girl! (at your own pace and in your own way).

  6. The real win is stretching yourself and reaching for your goals. Sometimes the hussy needs an adjustment, and it’s okay. Good luck on the job search.

  7. Absolutely AC! When I focus on the stretch, nothing else really matters. Then I feel sane again. I have to remind myself to push hard enough to feel the growing pains, but not enough to overwhelm myself. I think I’m getting better at that.

Leave a Reply

