NaNo Jitters–Row 80 Check-in

While the little kiddies dream of All Hallow’s Eve

I’m prepping for NaNo and outlining scenes.

Giddy about candy, they giggle and bounce.

I’m riddled with doubt

Tortured

Panicked

About making word counts.

They get to play dress up,

To marvel at costumes.

My stomach whirls

As November 1st looms.

 

Ha! It’s not all doom and gloom. I’m excited. This is a big stretch goal for me. If I felt totally comfortable about it, then it wouldn’t serve its purpose–growth. Anywho…

I’ve written every day, usually around five hundred words or so. Today, I finally finished analyzing Jim Butcher’s Storm Front. I’d hoped to be done with it by Friday, but I found myself a bit distracted after Wednesday. By the time I reach the halfway point in the novel, I lose steam. Then it takes me longer to finish. It happened with A Kiss of Shadows as well. I’m grateful to have gotten two books checked off the list this month. And I’m glad that I won’t be focusing on that for a little while.

Once November hits, NaNo will be the only writing goal on my mind.I think I’ll be refreshed by the time I get to analyze the next novel. That’ll probably be in December. Right now, I’m just tired of it. I may have to do one a month until I finish the drill. James Scott Bell suggested eight to twelve weeks to do six novels. That pace just feels like too much for me.

I hope that everyone gets a great start this week. Good luck to my fellow NaNoers. Until Wednesday!

Posted on October 30, 2011, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Have a wonderful time with NaNo, Yolanda! I’ll be waving pom-poms on the sideline for all the ROWers.

  2. The poem is cute! At least you’re not agonizing over it to the point of losing the fun of it. I’m curious about your reading list…any title that catches your fancy, or are you working through specific books?

    Good luck with Nano!

    • Nope no agony, just nerves. But I’ve taken all the pressure off. Must keep it fun. The fiction titles are whatever catches my fancy. I just discovered Laurell K. Hamilton and the Merry series last year. I love that series. So, I blew threw them. The rest were suggestions or books I happened across. The nonfiction titles are mostly areas where I could use some improvement or skills I want to develop.

  3. Don’t let the nerves get you. It’s only NaNoWriMo 😉 It’s a challenge but it’s also lots of fun. Good luck!

  4. Good luck girl.

    Just remember it’s all for fun. As long as you don’t let yourself get freaked out, it’s absolutely doable. I have to do revisions, but I’ll be with you in spirit.

    I’ve done it twice, won once. The year I won (last year) some of it was written in intensive care when my father inlaw fell ill. I figured he was sleeping, and I was just sitting there, so it kept me busy. To keep myself from freaking out I concentrated on daily word count, and anything extra was like icing on the cake for the days I knew I’d miss.

    Keep us posted on your progress.

  5. Thanks AC! I’m hoping to make my record 1-1 this year. Then I can get the NaNo bug out of my system altogether. It fits in with my goal to stretch my writing output right now. Next year, I plan to be in a different place with my writing. Will post updates.

  6. Nice poem! I expect you would be a little nervous about NaNo. It is a huge undertaking, but I’ll be rooting for you! As for novel analyzing, I think you’re doing just fine at your current pace. That is a lot of work. The funny thing is seeing you talk about it makes me want to try it. Maybe not whole novels, but even working out how successful authors set up their beginning. I know when it comes time to go back and do the major revisions on mine, the beginning is where I’ll be focusing a lot of attention so learning how others do it will help.

    Anyway, good luck with NaNo, hope it goes great for you 🙂

  7. Love the poem! You really challenged yourself with your goals. Go girl!

  8. Loved your poem. Seems like the creative juices are flowing just in time for NaNo. Although I’m not participating this year, I plan to increase my writing in the spirit of things and to be the best darned ROW80 NaNo cheerleader around. 😉 *rah, rah* for November 1!

  9. Thanks Tia! Loving all the cheerleaders running around. 😉

Leave a Reply

