Happy Happy Joy Joy–Row 80 check-in

Fresh off my morning walk, I’m feeling really good today. In fact, I’m feeling like this……

Ahh the Zen of Ren & Stimpy. I used to love that show. “You stupid idiot!”

Anyway, here’s my midweek report:

Progress has been made. I’ve written every day. It’s starting to feel as normal to me as brushing my teeth or taking a shower. That excites me because it means the habit is forming. I’m not missing that “I’m not writing” guilt at all.

Happy news on the novel analyzing side as well. I’m half way through the Jim Butcher novel Storm Front. It has been a much better experience than Undead and Unwed. Though I do find myself wondering about the reason for that. Is it that Jim’s writing style is clearer? Did I just hate the writing in Undead and Unwed? Or was it just fatigue from trying analyze three novels in a month? I guess I’ll find out when I go back to it later.

For now, I’m on schedule to finish this novel on Friday. That’ll give me three days to finalize NaNoWriMo prep. Am I the only one who is both anticipating and dreading NaNo? Until Sunday! Hope the rest of your week is filled with happy happy joy joy moments. 🙂

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. I was definitely both anticipating and dreading the arrival of the Great NaNo up until yesterday, when I had my own Happy Happy Joy Joy moment in finally embracing the idea I wasn’t quite sold on with full gusto. So now I can’t wait to start on it, but I’m glad to have a few days to do some outlining before all engines are go!

    Congratulations on getting into the habit of writing every day! Isn’t it a great feeling? I know my writing life changed for the better the moment I finally dedicated myself to completing certain things every day and I’ve never been happier with my work. I fell into a little bit of a funk, but I’ve got my Happy Happy Joy Joy back, too, so it’s good to see it spread around to others, as well. Great job on the goals! Good luck with the rest of the week.

    Even if I am going to have that song stuck in my head ALL DAY NOW.

    • Thanks! Yes, it is a really good feeling. I’m getting things done without feeling overwhelmed. I can’t ask for more. And there are worse songs to have stuck in your head. lol

  2. Good luck on finishing the novel on Friday! Have a Happy Day!

  3. Yay on developing that writing habit! Keep up the habit and good luck on NaNo!

  4. Thanks for the Ren & Stimpy – that made me laugh! Glad you’ve made yourself a new habit….still working on that one, myself, so you should be pleased with yourself. Good luck with NaNo! I have a great deal of admiration for those of you with the courage to dive headlong into that.

    • You’re so welcome. Those guys still make me laugh too. NaNo is insane or it least it can be. I crashed and burned last year. I credit NaNo with showing me that I knew nothing about novel writing. I’ve learned a lot since then. I’m hoping for a better showing this year.

  5. I don’t miss not writing guilt ether. I wrote joy is so much better.

    I am opting for the second year in a row not to NaNo. I don’t have a prject and I do have a nearly 2 year old. I don’t have the energy for 1500 words a day. Good luck I’m sure you’ll make it.

    • I crashed and burned last year with NaNo. I’m going into it with a specific purpose this year. That’s just to stretch my ability to put words on the page. Not too concerned with quality. It’s going to be junk and I’m cool with that. It’s fanfiction that will never see the light of day. Last year, I put way too much pressure on myself.

  6. Yolanda,
    Congrats on the progress, the new habit, and ‘goodby to guilt’. And finishing on Friday — a happy dance!!
    I’ll weigh in on Jim Butcher, though it’s just my opinion. I’ve always enjoyed the Dresden books and the thing about Harry is that he’s a very sympathetic character, very human, and the series starts in with Harry at an interesting point in his life. He’s already a wizard, with a lot of baggage, but he has a lot of backstory (that gets fed rather gradually over the series), and he has a long lifespan ahead of him. He can also mess up and make mistakes and we still enjoy Harry, we root for him – at least I do.
    As an FYI, Jim Butcher did a series of writer blog posts on writing back a few years ago. It is still available off of his website but a little hard to find. I have the links on my blog under For Writers and down the page a bit if you have trouble.
    The Undead and Unwed, I haven’t read, though I’ve talked to people who have and I suspect the author there had a different approach for her series and the development of the main character.
    ~Kate

  7. Oh, the joys of writing every day. I’m glad you were able to get it done 😉

    On NaNo, when they open writing buddies feature, add me: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/participants/juliana_haygert

    Cheers!

  8. Well done. 🙂
    It’s great when the writing habit is forming. xx

  9. Congrats on your Ren & Stimpy-approved progress! And boy does that clip bring me back 🙂

    Happy writing!
    Gina

  10. Writing every day! Hurrah! Sounds like it was a good idea to switch to a different novel for analyzing. Keep on dancing!

Leave a Reply

