Never Thought I’d See the Day–Row 80 check-in

I woke up this morning with soreness in my thighs. I winced, simply because I didn’t know it was there. Then, I smiled. Want to hear a confession? I LOVE the soreness in my thighs. It’s a sweet pain, an earned one. It wouldn’t be there if I hadn’t put in work. It wouldn’t be there if I hadn’t done something good for my body. It wouldn’t be there if I wasn’t exhibiting self-discipline and perseverance. I’m showing myself who I am capable of being. It’s a whole new world and I absolutely love who I’m becoming…who I am.

I can see that same progress with my writing. I’ve kept to my writing every day with no real thought to anything else. It’s just something that has to be done. I didn’t get back to analyzing the second novel until yesterday. I find the scene by scene analysis to be tedious, but well worth the effort. Going from Laurell K. Hamilton to Mary Janice Davidson is quite the dramatic shift. Laurell writes in thick, passionate detail. Mary Janice is thorough, but concise. Barely into the second round, I can see why the plot drill calls for six books. It’s an education that I doubt you could get any other way. Loving the journey.

P.S. Kettle bells rock!

Posted on October 19, 2011, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. As a personal trainer who loves to push her physical limits, I can relate to the yay-for-the-soreness feeling. Good for you. Kettle bells can make for a killer workout, that’s for sure.

    Keep up with the good work writing and analyzing. You’re right, scene by scene could be a challenge, but you sure would learn a lot.

    Have a great day.

    TTFN

  2. I absolutely need to get back to exercising and stop using all the good old excuses – time, tiredness etc.

    Glad to hear things are going well for you since you have joined ROW80. It is only my second round and I am so glad for all the support and encouragement I have found.

    Enjoy your achy thighs (!) and I hope the rest of your week goes well!

  3. Um, I have a really dirty mind, so I’m just going to admit that it took a minute to realize you were talking about exercising. That is all I’m going to say about that. I almost could have sworn you worded it that way to get people like me thinking the wrong thing! Keep in mind I read erotica, if that helps any.

    Anyway, glad you have had a, uh, productive week so far. Keep up the good work, really, whatever work that may be…

    I’m going now. Feel free to slap duct tape over my mouth!

    • Oh Susan, dirty minds are the best kind as far as I’m concerned. I am the proud owner on one myself! I too am a lover of erotica, but I didn’t even think about that when I wrote this. I just reread the first bit. I totally see how you got there! It reads like a morning after scene. Ha! Maybe it’s just in my blood.

      • Glad you took that well, the impish part of me could not stop myself from saying something! It definitely reads like a morning after scene, and it is interesting you didn’t even see how you were writing it that way, lol. Guess it is in your blood!

  4. Kudos to you! I am starting to exercise more myself and love the “sore because I was exercising” feeling. I’m also writing more because of ROW80. Good luck with everything!

  5. Thanks so much. Good luck to you too!

  6. Congrats all around. Row80 has been a big help to me in many ways. I am very happy to see so many join in this round. It is great to meet so many fellow writers. Keep up the good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

