A Newbie’s First Impressions–Row 80 Check in

What took so long? A week into Row 80 and that’s what I keep asking myself. I’d known about the challenge for quite some time. I just couldn’t bring myself to join. I lurked–checking out people’s blogs and following the hash tag on Twitter. Since this summer, I’ve been really challenging myself to do things I wouldn’t normally do. I’ve gone to a Family Feud taping. I’ve exercised regularly in public. I drank only water for twenty-one days. Then the announcement for the fourth round showed up. This time I jumped on it. I’m so glad I did!

I’ve found the other participants extremely friendly and welcoming. I’ve been encouraged by many kindred spirits which totally alleviates Lonely Writer Syndrome.  Most of all, I’ve been so productive I don’t know what to do with myself. So, thanks Row 80 family. I’m very glad for you all. 🙂

As for my goals:

Writing EVERY day–check

Analyzing novels–check–I didn’t finish the first one today like I hoped, but it’ll definitely be done tomorrow.

Catch ya on Sunday!

Posted on October 12, 2011, in Miscellany and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. So glad you joined up! I am incredibly impressed about the water intake for 21 days. I’m a Coca-Cola girl, and I just try for my water to keep up with my soda intake. Looks like you’re staying on top of your goals, making progress, and kickin’ it! Keep ROWing the boat.

  2. Great job on stepping outside of your comfort zone! Keep it up!

  3. Glad you’ve joined us! RoW80 is a great group and a good challenge.
    Wishing you many productive writing days!

  4. I agree that the comments from others really helps keep motivation up. Glad you are making good progress. Keep it coming!

  5. Encouragement is one of the main things about ROW. I’m glad you’re enjoying it. Keep up the great work, and ROCK THE ROW!!! ~clink~

  6. Great job! Keep it going. I know exactly what you mean. I’ve been watching ROW80 for a while and I finally decided to give it a go myself.

  7. Thanks for the newbie love Ryan!

  8. Glad you decided to join in. We have some great folks who provide alot of encouragement. Good for you for drinking water. I gave up sodas quite a while ago. Helped tremendously. Only drink water or tea now. Don’t miss the sodas at all.

  9. Glad you joined! This is my first time also, and I’m really enjoying it. Less stress than NaNoWriMo and more personalized.

  10. My motto is fail your way forward. This is my fourth time? Maybe third, but I love knowing there are others at the same point of my journey and we can help each other along, and those ahead of us that are on different struggles.

    I’m glad you’re in here with the rest of us.

    p.s. I’m off the sodas too

  11. Great motto! Putting it up on my inspiration wall (3 vision boards and a crap load of index cards with quotes on them) right now.

  12. Thanks for posting about ROW80! I had never heard of it before! Looks fun, I’ll definitely give it a try the next round.

Leave a Reply

