Ready to ROW Again

Hi all! How I’ve missed you so!

The last couple of weeks have been hectic as I adjusted to my new schedule. Things are going well at the job. Training is hardcore, like taking summer classes in college. It is fast paced and intense. Being the nerd that I am, I am really enjoying the learning process.

I committed myself to participating in this round. By the end of my first day at work, I was questioning that decision again only to arrive at the same conclusion. I need to be here. So, I gave myself the first two weeks of this round off just to work things out. I am learning the art of efficiency. And I’m ready to get back into ROW life. This is my day one of round two.

Goals…

Check-ins: I am only committing to Sundays for this round. I’m sure I’ll pop up on a few Wednesdays, but they have to be optional for now.

Reading: Things have really slowed down in this department. I can’t expect myself to read as much as I did before. So, I am aiming to read two craft books and all the fiction I can get my hands on.

Writing: This is tricky. My inclination is to go back to the every day goal. After having success with that last round. Anything less feels like a copout to me. When I’m honest with myself, I know that’s asking for too much right now. My days are filled with study. My mind needs downtime. With that said, I’ll commit to four days a week. That’ll give me the weekend and two and days during the work week.

Commenting: No specific goal here as far as numbers. I’m aim to make the rounds on both days. I’ve got a smart phone coming my way. I hope it will make that easier.

I hope all is well with you guys. I am so glad to be back. TTYL

Posted on April 15, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Glad to see you’re back! I had to scale back this round too – that whole real life thing. But it sounds like things are good and you’re enjoying where you are. See you on Sundays.

  2. Yolanda, I’m glad you decided to come back for this round, even though things are a little hectic in other parts of your life. I’ve found that it’s worth being here, if only for the support and uplift I get from visiting everyone each week. I think your pared down goals will work well, especially writing 4 days each week instead of every day.

    Have a great week!

  3. Thanks Lynette and Lena!

  4. I’m glad you’re settling in to your new position, transitioning can wear you out. You’re a better woman than I am, I’m not doing ROW80 this round, I felt like such a slacker last round, and I didn’t want to feel guilty. But, enough about me…you’ve got some good goals — you always inspire!

  5. Welcome back to ROW80, Yolanda!!! I hope you can see the *life balance and ROW80 work hand in hand* dance I’m doing for you. :-)

    I agree with the others that fitting it all in is a hard sometimes and participating in ROW80 helps us to not drop the writing goals side of life. I’ve just added a daily writing goal this round and hope to build that in as habit. Great luck with the new job and on your goals progress for the upcoming week.

  6. I see you dancing Barbara! I love a good jig. I’m trying to balance a lot right now. I don’t know how successful it will be, but I am willing to keep working at it. Thanks for the support. :)

  7. Wonderful to see you back, Yolanda. I confess, I’m going to be watching you closely (I’m in the process of going back to school myself), but motsly because I want to see how you get so much done. ;-)

    Paring down your goals is a great idea. But the daily writing idea might still be worth doing. Maybe add a “five sentences” goal… Just five sentences every day. Or maybe get yourself a little recorder and dictate a note or two…

    Don’t worry about the actual counts. Just give yourself a daily creative outlet.

    Welcome back!

    • That’s an awesome idea, Eden, one that I’ll give serious consideration. So far, what I’ve been trying isn’t really working.

      • I’m sorry to hear that things aren’t working well, Yolanda. I would suggest setting a personal goal of “just getting five sentences done”. Or some other small measurable thing. Maybe five sentences one day, two pictures that inspire you think about your characters the next day, maybe a day off completely with an extra “relaxation moment” built into it, then repeat?

        And the recorder… I know some smartphones and mp3 players include a feature where you can record voice messages. Or, as I remember reading, call yourself and leave a message on your home phone with an idea or two…

        Just some thoughts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

