A Few Kind Words

In better spirits today. Gave myself a nice pedicure. That always cheers me up. Things have been moving along since Sunday. I’ve gotten my writing in every day. I have read another novel, The Hunger Games. My best friend is determined that I see the movie with her. So I figured it would be good to read the book before hand. I don’t know what I was expecting, but I was pleasantly surprised by how much I got into that story. I started book two last night, to the delight of many of my fangirl friends.

Monday I found out that my start date for my new job has been pushed back until April 2nd. That also just happens to be the day the next round of ROW 80 starts. I was considering skipping the round, but some wise words from Gene Lempp ( sponsor extraordinaire) have left me with a different perspective.

It would be so easy to just put certain things on the back burner for while, especially my writing. Ultimately though, that’s not what I want or need. I’m going to have to be able to juggle a number of things. The only way I’ll know for sure whether or not I can actually do it is to try. ┬áIt might not be pretty, but it doesn’t have to be. So, I’m moving ahead with the original plan to participate next round. I just have to set reasonable goals and adjust when necessary. Duh! Isn’t that the whole point of this challenge?

It’s good to be surrounded by smart, caring people. Thanks again Gene and ROW family.

Until Sunday.

Posted on March 14, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. glad you’re still going to be with us!

  2. Great approach, Yolanda. We have a similar mindset…when I get busy, writing has historically been the first thing to be put on the back burner while I tend to other things. But no more! ROW80 will help you accomplish your goals as long as you try your best and make things manageable. Good luck, congrats on the new job, and I can’t wait to see what you achieve in the next round!

    • Thanks Jessica. Yes, Row 80 is great for this busy time. It helps to keep me progressing. I just needed the reminder to focus on long term benefits rather than short term ease.

  3. I think you’ve got the right idea, and while finding that correct balance isn’t going to be easy, I bet you’ll feel best about your choice to try bringing that balance into your life from the beginning. Best wished on the new job, Yolanda. I hope it is everything you want it to be and more.

    • Thanks so much, Eden. It’s the right thing. I’m glad you guys are around to keep me on the right path. ROW 80 has been great support for my writing, but also for my life in general.

      • Well, I can’t speak for other ROWers directly, but I know that it’s been great, sharing our support, and I’m delighted to know that I was a little part of helping you reach your goals.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

