Another Sunday Check-in

Since Wednesday, I’ve polished off another novel, Hot Mama by Jennifer Estep. It was fine. I liked her first one better. I’ve read a couple of short stories as well. The thing I’m noticing is that even my leisure reading isn’t so leisurely any more. I still enjoy it immensely, but I can’t read a story of any kind without looking at it from a writer’s standpoint.

The more I learn about structure and specific writing technique, the more I see it in the stories I read. I see what’ s working. I see what’s lacking. I see how I would have made different choices. That excites me, makes me feel like all the studying that I do is paying off. I like that because it teaches me to be patient and to trust my own process. Things are coming together even when I have no idea why I’m doing what I’m doing. The reading bender continues.

I’ve gotten some more work done on the novel analyzing front as well. I am working through Karma Girl and it is going quickly like I hoped. Sort of. The actual process is speedier than with some other books. I just don’t have very much time to devote to doing it. So, I guess it’s more like medium speed. :P

I am getting my writing in every day. I’m exceeding my word counts still, but I refuse to up the number just yet. I am deep into the interview process. With a new job, my schedule would change dramatically. Free time would dwindle. I’d have to see how that number would hold up then. That’s where I am.

I hope you guys are hitting your marks and having a good time. Happy ROWing guys!

Posted on February 26, 2012, in ROW 80 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. What a great week you have had! You certainly know how to keep your goals in check.

    I always find it rewarding to apply my newfound knowledge on things I do in everyday life -or as you said reading & writing. You’ve taken the best lesson out of the learning process, keep that up and you’ll certainly be going places. :)

  2. don’t up the number… keep the excess as extra credit for those bad days if they come about :P

  3. Sounds lie a productive week. I agree about the boos I find it harder to get completely lost in a book now that I know more about writing and have been doing critiques. Which is sad but it means when it does happen its wonderful.

  4. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

